**Document:** Final Rule, **Register Page Number:** 29 IR 2539

**Source:** May 1, 2006, Indiana Register, Volume 29, Number 8

**Disclaimer:** This document was created from the files used to produce the official CD-ROM Indiana Register.

#### TITLE 828 STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY

LSA Document #05-226(F)

#### DIGEST

Amends 828 IAC 0.5-2-3 and 828 IAC 0.5-2-4 concerning fees for licensure to practice dentistry and dental hygiene. Amends 828 IAC 1-1-1 through 828 IAC 1-1-3, 828 IAC 1-1-6, and 828 IAC 1-1-7 concerning the requirements for licensure of dentists by examination to facilitate the outsourcing of the administration of the examinations. Amends 828 IAC 1-2-1 through 828 IAC 1-2-3 and 828 IAC 1-2-6 concerning the requirements for licensure of dental hygienists by examination to facilitate the outsourcing of the administration of the examination. Amends 828 IAC 1-3-1.1, 828 IAC 1-3-1.5, and 828 IAC 1-3-2 concerning licensure to practice dentistry and dental hygiene by endorsement. Repeals 828 IAC 1-1-8, 828 IAC 1-1-12, 828 IAC 1-1-21, 828 IAC 1-2-7; 828 IAC 1-2-8, 828 IAC 1-2-9, 828 IAC 1-2-12, and 828 IAC 1-2-14. Effective 30 days after filing with the Secretary of State.

828 IAC 0.5-2-3	828 IAC 1-2-2
828 IAC 0.5-2-4	828 IAC 1-2-3
828 IAC 1-1-1	828 IAC 1-2-6
828 IAC 1-1-2	828 IAC 1-2-7
828 IAC 1-1-3	828 IAC 1-2-8
828 IAC 1-1-6	828 IAC 1-2-9
828 IAC 1-1-7	828 IAC 1-2-12
828 IAC 1-1-8	828 IAC 1-2-14
828 IAC 1-1-12	828 IAC 1-3-1.1
828 IAC 1-1-21	828 IAC 1-3-1.5
828 IAC 1-2-1	828 IAC 1-3-2

SECTION 1. 828 IAC 0.5-2-3, AS AMENDED AT 28 IR 2713, SECTION 1, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 0.5-2-3 Dental fees

Authority: IC 23-1.5-2-9; IC 23-1.5-2-10; IC 25-1-8-2; IC 25-13-1-5; IC 25-14-1-13; IC 25-14-1-27.5 Affected: IC 25-13-1-8; IC 25-14-1-10

Sec. 3. The board shall charge and collect the following fees related to the practice of dentistry:

(1) Examination administration Application for licensure	\$250 plus the cost of supplies, models, and the use of
	the examination facility
(2) Reexamination administration Repeat law examination only	\$150 plus the cost of supplies, models, and the use of
	the examination facility \$25
(3) Licensure by endorsement	<del>\$250</del>
(4) (3) License renewal	\$100 biennially
(5) (4) Dental intern permit application	\$100
(6) (5) Dental intern permit renewal	\$50
(7) (6) Verification of dental licensure to another state	\$10
(8) (7) Duplicate wall license	\$10
(9) (8) Professional corporation registration application	\$25
(10) (9) Professional corporation registration renewal	\$20 biennially
(11) (10) Application fees for the following permits:	\$50
(A) General anesthesia, deep sedation (GADS)	
(B) Light parenteral conscious sedation (LPCS)	
(12) (11) Renewal fees for the following permits:	\$50 biennially
(A) General anesthesia-deep sedation (GADS)	
(B) Light parenteral conscious sedation (LPCS)	

(13) (12) Registration of an additional office in which to administer general anesthesia, deep sedation, GADS, or light parenteral conscious

sedation (LPCS)

(14) (13) Reinstatement of inactive license \$250 (15) (14) Instructor's license application \$250

(16) (15) Instructor's license renewal \$50 annually

(17) (16) Instructor's application for the following permits: \$50

(A) GADS

(B) LPCS

(18) (17) Renewal fee for instructor's GADS/LPCS permit

\$25 annually

(State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 0.5-2-3; filed Dec 2, 2001, 12:35 p.m.: 25 IR 1180; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m.: 26 IR 376; filed Apr 18, 2005, 2:00 p.m.: 28 IR 2713; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2538)

SECTION 2. 828 IAC 0.5-2-4 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 0.5-2-4 Dental hygiene fees

Authority: IC 23-1.5-2-9; IC 23-1.5-2-10; IC 25-1-8-2; IC 25-13-1-5; IC 25-14-1-13

Affected: IC 25-13-1-8; IC 25-14-1-10

Sec. 4. The board shall charge and collect the following fees related to the practice of dental hygiene:

(1) Examination and/or reexamination Application for licensure

\$100 plus the cost of supplies and the use of the examination facility

(2) Repeat law examination only

\$25

\$100

\$100

(4) (3) License renewal \$50 biennially (5) (4) Dental hygiene intern permit application \$50

(6) (5) Dental hygiene intern permit renewal\$ 25(7) (6) Verification of dental hygiene licensure to another state\$ 10(8) (7) Duplicate wall license\$ 10(9) (8) Reinstatement of inactive license\$100

(State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 0.5-2-4; filed Dec 2, 2001, 12:35 p.m.: 25 IR 1181; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m.: 26 IR 376; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2539)

SECTION 3. 828 IAC 1-1-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 1-1-1 Qualifications of applicants; approved dental schools

Authority: IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-14-1-16

Sec. 1. All applicants for licensure to practice dentistry must:

- (1) have graduated from an accredited and approved a dental school accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental Association; and must
- (2) submit certification of having completed, within the prior year, an American Red Cross or American Heart Association cardiopulmonary resuscitation course or such another course as may be approved by the board. An approved dental school is one which requires the following:
- (1) Graduation from high school, or equivalent training.
- (2) The successful completion of two (2) full academic years of work in a college of liberal arts or sciences. This college course must include at least one (1) year of college credit in English, biology, physics, and inorganic chemistry and one-half (1/2) year of college credit in organic chemistry. All courses in science shall include both class and laboratory instruction. Formal credit in biology and physics, but not in English and chemistry, may be waived in the case of an exceptional student with three (3) years of college credit or a student holding a bachelor's or other degree from an accredited college.
- (3) Four (4) academic years in a dental school which presents a curriculum, including at least the following subjects:
  - (A) Anatomy, macroscopic and microscopic.
  - (B) Oral surgery.
  - (C) Bacteriology.

- (D) Pharmacology and materia medica.
- (E) Operative dentistry.
- (F) Physiology.
- (G) Oral anatomy.
- (H) Periodontia.
- (I) Endodontia.
- (J) Prosthodontia.
- (K) Anesthesia, general and local.
- (L) Preventive dentistry.
- (M) Pathology.
- (N) Medicine.
- (O) Diagnosis.
- (P) Radiology.
- (Q) Orthodontia.
- (R) Dentistry for children.
- (S) Dental materials.
- (T) Public health.
- (U) Hygiene.
- (V) History of dentistry.
- (W) Practice management.
- (X) Ethics.
- (Y) Jurisprudence.

(State Board of Dentistry; PT 1, Rule 1; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 48; filed May 16, 1977, 10:10 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1978, p. 191; filed Nov 7, 1980, 12:45 p.m.: 3 IR 2189; filed Oct 12, 1993, 5:00 p.m.: 17 IR 399; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2539)

SECTION 4. 828 IAC 1-1-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 1-1-2 Application forms

Authority: IC 4-1-8-1; IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-14-1-3; IC 25-14-1-16

- Sec. 2. (a) The applicant for examination licensure must complete the application on forms prescribed and provided by the board. All statements contained in the application must be verified by the applicant. The verified application, all examination fees, and other documents that the board may require must be submitted to the board. office at least forty-five (45) days prior to the first day of the examination.
- (b) **The following** proof that the applicant is a graduate of a dental school that is recognized by the board must be submitted: to the board at least seven (7) days prior to the examination. The following documents must be submitted:
  - (1) An official transcript showing the date the degree was conferred.
  - (2) An official diploma or a certificate of completion signed by the:
    - (A) dean of the applicant's professional school; and the
    - **(B)** registrar of the university or college.
  - (c) Additional documents to be submitted by the applicant for a license include the following:
  - (1) Where the name on any document differs from the applicant's name, one (1) of the following:
    - (A) A notarized or certified copy of a marriage certificate.
    - (B) Legal proof of a name change.
  - (2) Two (2) recent passport-type photographs of the applicant, taken within eight (8) weeks before filing of the application.
  - (3) If the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense, excluding minor traffic violations, the applicant shall submit a notarized statement detailing all criminal offenses, excluding minor traffic violations, for which the applicant has been convicted. This notarized statement must include the following:
    - (A) The offense of which the applicant was convicted.
    - (B) The court in which the applicant was convicted.
    - (C) The cause number under which the applicant was convicted.

- (D) The penalty imposed by the court.
- (4) An applicant who is now, or has been, licensed to practice any health profession in another state or Canadian province must submit verification of license status. This information must be sent by the state or province that issued the license directly to the Indiana board.
- (5) An applicant who is now, or has been, licensed to practice any health profession in another state shall submit a selfquery form completed by the following:
  - (A) The National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).
  - (B) The Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) data bank.
- (d) All applicants must submit the applicant's United States Social Security number in order to be eligible for licensure. (State Board of Dentistry; PT 1, Rule 2; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 49; filed May 16, 1977, 10:10 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1978, p. 191; filed Oct 16, 1985, 3:57 p.m.: 9 IR 520; filed Oct 12, 1993, 5:00 p.m.: 17 IR 400; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Feb 28, 2002, 3:17 p.m.: 25 IR 2239; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2540)

SECTION 5. 828 IAC 1-1-3 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 1-1-3 Examinations required for licensure

Authority: IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-14-1-3

- Sec. 3. (a) In order to obtain an Indiana license to practice dentistry, each candidate applicant must pass an examination that includes the following:
  - (1) All sections of the national dental board examination.
  - (2) A clinical examination.
  - (3) A written examination covering Indiana law relating to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.
- (b) A passing score must be obtained on all sections of the national board dental examination before any candidate may take the clinical or law examinations. (State Board of Dentistry; PT 1, Rule 3; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 49; filed May 16, 1977, 10:10 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1978, p. 192; filed Apr 19, 1991, 3:00 p.m.: 14 IR 1726; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Feb 28, 2002, 3:17 p.m.: 25 IR 2239; filed Feb 26, 2004, 3:45 p.m.: 27 IR 2278; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2540)

SECTION 6. 828 IAC 1-1-6 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 1-1-6 National board examination; dental and dental hygiene law examinations

Authority: IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-14-1-13

- Sec. 6. (a) A passing score on a national board dental examination, as approved by the board, must be attained achieved by the candidate applicant before the candidate applicant will be permitted to take the clinical portion of the examination and the written examination covering Indiana law relating to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.
- (b) Passage of the Indiana dental and dental hygiene law examination with a score of at least seventy-five (75) is mandatory before the eandidate applicant may be licensed. Candidates Applicants failing the law examination may retake the law examination at a time, date, and place to be set by the board not sooner than thirty (30) days from the time the law examination was last taken. (State Board of Dentistry; PT 1, Rule 6; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 50; filed May 16, 1977, 10:10 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1978, p. 192; filed Apr 12, 1984, 8:34 a.m.: 7 IR 1520; filed Nov 7, 1986, 9:00 a.m.: 10 IR 431; filed Apr 19, 1991, 3:00 p.m.: 14 IR 1726; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Feb 28, 2002, 3:17 p.m.: 25 IR 2240; filed Feb 26, 2004, 3:45 p.m.: 27 IR 2279; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2541)

SECTION 7. 828 IAC 1-1-7 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 1-1-7 Clinical examination Authority: IC 25-1-8-5; IC 25-14-1-13

Affected: IC 25-14-1-3

- Sec. 7. The clinical To be eligible for licensure by examination, shall consist an applicant must meet any one (1) of the following sections (or procedures):
  - (1) Oral diagnosis and treatment planning, infection control, and periodontics.
  - (2) Operative dentistry.
  - (3) Prosthetic dentistry.

The procedure for administering this examination will be determined by the board. Each candidate shall be required to have a score of seventy-five (75) or more in each section to pass the clinical examination requirements:

- (1) Have passed all parts of one (1) of the following examinations within the five (5) year period immediately before the date of the board's receipt of the applicant's application:
  - (A) The Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS) examination.
  - (B) The North East Regional Board (NERB) examination.
  - (C) The Southern Regional Testing Agency (SRTA) examination.
  - (D) The Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) examination.
- (2) Have taken an examination administered by the board and received a passing score as established by the board. (State Board of Dentistry; PT 1, Rule 7; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 50; filed May 16, 1977, 10:10 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1978, p. 192; filed Oct 12, 1993, 5:00 p.m.: 17 IR 400; filed Sep 11, 2000, 2:23 p.m.: 24 IR 377; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Feb 26, 2004, 3:45 p.m.: 27 IR 2279; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2541)

SECTION 8. 828 IAC 1-2-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 1-2-1 Qualifications of applicants; accredited and approved dental hygiene schools

Authority: IC 25-13-1-5 Affected: IC 25-13-1-6

Sec. 1. All applicants for licensure to practice dental hygiene must:

- (1) have graduated from an accredited and approved a school of dental hygiene school that is accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association; and must
- (2) submit certification of having completed within the prior year an American Red Cross or American Heart Association cardiopulmonary resuscitation course or such another course as may be approved by the board. An accredited and approved dental hygiene school is one that requires the following:
- (1) Graduation from high school or equivalent training.
- (2) Two (2) academic years in a dental hygiene school that presents a curriculum, including, at least, the following subjects:
  - (A) Anatomy, general and oral.
  - (B) Pharmacology.
  - (C) Microbiology and immunology.
  - (D) Radiology.
  - (E) Physiology.
  - (F) Preventive dentistry.
  - (G) Dental hygiene science.
  - (H) Histology.
  - (I) Chemistry.
  - (J) Dental materials.
  - (K) Periodontology.
  - (L) Nutrition.
  - (M) Pathology, general and oral.
  - (N) Oral and written communication.
  - (O) Psychology.
  - (P) Sociology.
  - (Q) Community dental health.

(State Board of Dentistry; PT 2, Rule 1; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 51; filed Nov 7, 1980, 12:45 p.m.: 3 IR 2190; filed Oct 12, 1993, 5:00 p.m.: 17 IR 401; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Feb 28, 2002, 3:17 p.m.: 25 IR 2243; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2541)

SECTION 9. 828 IAC 1-2-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 1-2-2 Application forms

Authority: IC 4-1-8-1; IC 25-13-1-5

Affected: IC 25-13-1-4

Sec. 2. (a) The applicant for examination licensure must complete the application on forms prescribed and provided by the board. The applicant shall verify all statements contained in the application. The verified application, all examination fees, and other documents that the board may require must be submitted to the board. office at least forty-five (45) days prior to the first day of the examination.

- (b) **The following** proof that the applicant is a graduate of a school of dental hygiene that is recognized by the board must be submitted to the board at least seven (7) days prior to the examination. The following documents must be submitted: as follows:
  - (1) An official transcript showing the date the degree was conferred.
  - (2) An official diploma or a certificate of completion signed by the dean and the registrar of the applicant's school.
  - (c) Additional documents to be submitted by the applicant for a license include the following:
  - (1) Where the name on any document differs from the applicant's name, one (1) of the following:
    - (A) A notarized or certified copy of a marriage certificate.
    - (B) Legal proof of a name change.
  - (2) Two (2) recent passport-type photographs of the applicant, taken within eight (8) weeks before filing of the application.
  - (3) If the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense, excluding minor traffic violations, the applicant shall submit a notarized statement detailing all criminal offenses, excluding minor traffic violations, for which the applicant has been convicted. This notarized statement must include the following:
    - (A) The offense of which the applicant was convicted.
    - (B) The court in which the applicant was convicted.
    - (C) The cause number under which the applicant was convicted.
    - (D) The penalty imposed by the court.
  - (4) An applicant who is now, or has been, licensed to practice any health profession in another state or Canadian province must submit verification of license status. This information must be sent by the state or province that issued the license directly to the Indiana board.
  - (5) An applicant who is now, or has been, licensed to practice any health profession in another state shall submit a selfquery form completed by the following:
    - (A) The National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).
    - (B) The Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) data bank.
- (d) All applicants must submit the applicant's United States Social Security number in order to be eligible for licensure. (State Board of Dentistry; PT 2, Rule 2; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 52; filed Oct 16, 1985, 3:57 p.m.: 9 IR 522; filed Oct 12, 1993, 5:00 p.m.: 17 IR 401; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Feb 28, 2002, 3:17 p.m.: 25 IR 2243; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2542)

SECTION 10. 828 IAC 1-2-3 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

#### 828 IAC 1-2-3 Examinations required for licensure

Authority: IC 25-1-8-5; IC 25-13-1-5 Affected: IC 25-13-1-4; IC 25-13-1-7

- Sec. 3. (a) In order to obtain an Indiana license to practice dental hygiene, each candidate applicant must pass an examination that includes the following:
  - (1) All sections of the national dental hygiene board examination.
  - (2) A clinical examination.
  - (3) A written examination covering Indiana law relating to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.
- (b) A passing score must be obtained on all sections of the national board dental hygiene examination before any candidate may take the clinical or law examinations.
  - (b) To be eligible for licensure by examination, an applicant must meet any one (1) of the following clinical examination

#### requirements:

- (1) Have passed all parts of one (1) of the following examinations within the five (5) year period immediately before the date of the board's receipt of the applicant's application:
  - (A) The Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS) examination.
  - (B) The North East Regional Board (NERB) examination.
  - (C) The Southern Regional Testing Agency (SRTA) examination.
  - (D) The Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) examination.
- (2) Have taken an examination administered by the board and received a passing score as established by the board. (State Board of Dentistry; PT 2, Rule 3; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 52; filed Apr 19, 1991, 3:00 p.m.: 14 IR 1727; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Feb 28, 2002, 3:17 p.m.: 25 IR 2244; filed Feb 26, 2004, 3:45 p.m.: 27 IR 2279; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2542)

# SECTION 11. 828 IAC 1-2-6 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 1-2-6 National board examination; dental and dental hygiene law examination

**Authority: IC 25-13-1-5** 

Affected: IC 25-13-1-4; IC 25-13-1-7

- Sec. 6. (a) A passing score on a national board dental hygiene examination, as approved by the board, must be attained achieved by the candidate applicant before the candidate applicant will be permitted to take the clinical portion of the examination and the written examination covering Indiana law relating to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.
- (b) Passage of the Indiana dental and dental hygiene law examination with a score of at least seventy-five (75) is mandatory before the candidate applicant may be licensed. Candidates Applicants failing the law examination may retake the law examination at a time, date, and place to be set by the board not sooner than thirty (30) days from the time the law examination was last taken. (State Board of Dentistry; PT 2, Rule 6; filed Aug 10, 1973, 11:00 a.m.: Rules and Regs. 1974, p. 52; filed Apr 12, 1984, 8:34 a.m.: 7 IR 1521; filed Nov 7, 1986, 9:00 a.m.: 10 IR 431; filed Apr 19, 1991, 3:00 p.m.: 14 IR 1727; filed Jan 28, 1992, 5:00 p.m.: 15 IR 1014; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Feb 28, 2002, 3:17 p.m.: 25 IR 2244; filed Feb 26, 2004, 3:45 p.m.: 27 IR 2280; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2543)

SECTION 12. 828 IAC 1-3-1.1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 1-3-1.1 Dental licensure by endorsement; credentials

Authority: IC 4-1-8-1; IC 25-14-1-13

Affected: IC 25-14-1-16

Sec. 1.1. (a) Persons seeking licensure to practice dentistry by endorsement shall do the following:

- (1) File an application on a form supplied by the board. and
- (2) Submit the fees required by 828 IAC 0.5-2-3.
- (b) The applicant for a license shall provide the following:
- (1) Where the name on any document differs from the applicant's name, one (1) of the following:
  - (A) A notarized or certified copy of a marriage certificate. or
  - (B) Legal proof of a name change.
- (2) Two (2) recent passport-type photographs of the applicant, taken within eight (8) weeks prior to before filing of the application.
- (3) An original transcript of the applicant's dental education, including the following:
  - (A) The degree or degrees conferred. and
  - **(B)** The date each degree was conferred.
- (4) If the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense, excluding minor traffic violations, the applicant shall submit a notarized statement detailing all criminal offenses, excluding minor traffic violations, for which the applicant has been convicted. This notarized statement must include the following:
  - (A) The offense of which the applicant was convicted.
  - (B) The court in which the applicant was convicted.
  - (C) The cause number under which the applicant was convicted.
  - (D) The penalty imposed by the court.
- (5) An applicant who is now, or has been, licensed to practice any health profession in another state or Canadian province must

submit verification of license status. This information must be sent by the state or province that issued the license directly to the Indiana board.

- (6) The applicant shall submit a self-query form completed by the following:
  - (A) The National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). and
  - (B) The Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) data bank.
- (7) The applicant shall submit proof of **the following:**
- (A) Completion of at least twenty (20) hours of continuing dental education taken in the previous two (2) years. No more than two (2) hours of training in basic life support shall count toward this requirement.
- (8) The applicant shall submit proof (B) That the applicant successfully completed the:
  - (i) National Board Dental Examination provided by the Joint Commission on Dental Examinations; or successfully completed the
  - (ii) National Dental Examining Board of Canada Written Examination provided by the National Dental Examining Board of Canada.
- (9) The applicant shall submit proof (C) That the applicant satisfactorily completed a **national**, regional, state, or provincial clinical licensing examination in any other state or Canadian province having and maintaining a standard of examination for licensure and laws regulating the practice of dentistry within that state or province that are is substantially equivalent to the examination and licensing requirements of Indiana.
- (10) The applicant shall submit proof (**D**) That the applicant has been engaged in the active practice of dentistry for not less than five (5) two (2) years out of the nine (9) three (3) years immediately preceding the submission of the application.
- (11) (8) The applicant shall submit the following:
  - (A) Written statements from at least three (3) practicing dentists verifying the applicant's active, moral, and ethical practice of dentistry. The statements must:
  - (i) be originals; and must
  - (ii) have been written not more than eight (8) weeks prior to before the submission of the application.
  - (12) The applicant shall submit (B) Proof that the applicant is currently certified in one (1) of the following:
  - (i) Basic life support. or
  - (ii) Advanced cardiac life support.
- (13) (9) All information on the application shall be submitted under oath or affirmation, subject to the penalties for perjury.
- (c) An applicant who has previously failed an examination for licensure administered by the board is not eligible to apply for a license by endorsement, until such applicant has passed all portions of the examination in which he or she failed or provides the board with proof that additional training has been received in the subjects of the failure.
- (c) All applicants must submit the applicant's United States Social Security number in order to be eligible for licensure. (State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 1-3-1.1; filed Sep 27, 2002, 2:38 p.m.: 26 IR 373; errata filed Sep 27, 2002, 2:59 p.m.: 26 IR 383; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2543)

SECTION 13. 828 IAC 1-3-1.5 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 1-3-1.5 Licensure to practice dental hygiene by endorsement; credentials

Authority: IC 4-1-8-1; IC 25-13-1-5; IC 25-14-1-13

Affected: IC 25-13-1-7; IC 25-13-1-17

Sec. 1.5. (a) Persons seeking licensure to practice dental hygiene by endorsement shall do the following:

- (1) File an application on a form supplied by the board. and
- (2) Submit the fees required by 828 IAC 0.5-2-4.
- (b) The applicant for a license shall provide the following:
- (1) Where the name on any document differs from the applicant's name, one (1) of the following:
  - (A) A notarized or certified copy of a marriage certificate. or
  - **(B)** Legal proof of **a** name change.
- (2) Two (2) recent passport-type photographs of the applicant, taken within eight (8) weeks prior to before filing of the application.
- (3) An original transcript of the applicant's dental hygiene education, including the following:
  - (A) The degree or degrees conferred. and
  - **(B)** The date each degree was conferred.

- (4) If the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense, excluding minor traffic violations, the applicant shall submit a notarized statement detailing all criminal offenses, excluding minor traffic violations, for which the applicant has been convicted. This notarized statement must include the following:
  - (A) The offense of which the applicant was convicted.
  - (B) The court in which the applicant was convicted.
  - (C) The cause number under which the applicant was convicted.
  - (D) The penalty imposed by the court.
- (5) An applicant who is now, or has been, licensed to practice any health profession in another state must submit verification of license status. This information must be sent by the state that issued the license directly to the Indiana board.
- (6) The applicant shall submit the following:
  - (A) A self-query form completed by the following:
    - (i) The National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). and
    - (ii) The Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) data bank.
  - (7) The applicant shall submit (B) Proof of completion of at least fourteen (14) hours of continuing dental hygiene education taken within the previous two (2) years. No more than two (2) hours of training in basic life support shall count toward this requirement.
- (8) (7) All information on the application shall be submitted under oath or affirmation, subject to the penalties for perjury.
- (9) (8) The applicant shall submit the following proof that the applicant:
  - (A) Satisfactorily completed the following:
    - (i) The National Board Dental Hygiene Examination provided by the Joint Commission on Dental Examinations.
    - (10) The applicant shall submit proof that the applicant satisfactorily completed (ii) A national, regional, or state clinical licensing examination in any other state having and maintaining a standard of examination for licensure and laws regulating the practice of dental hygiene within that state or province that are is substantially equivalent to the examination and licensing requirements of Indiana.
  - (11) The applicant shall submit proof that the applicant (B) Has been engaged in the active practice of dental hygiene for not less than two (2) years out of the five (5) years immediately preceding the submission of the application.
- (12) (9) The applicant shall submit the following:
- (A) Written statements from at least three (3) practicing dentists verifying the applicant's active, moral, and ethical practice of dental hygiene. The statements must:
  - (i) be originals; and must
  - (ii) have been written not more than eight (8) weeks prior to before the submission of the application.
- (13) The applicant shall submit (B) Proof that the applicant is currently certified in basic life support.
- (c) An applicant who has previously failed an examination for licensure administered by the board is not eligible to apply for a license by endorsement until such the applicant:
  - (1) has passed all portions of the examination in which he or she failed; or
  - (2) provides the board with proof that additional training has been received in the subjects of the failure.
- (d) All applicants must submit the applicant's United States Social Security number in order to be eligible for licensure. (State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 1-3-1.5; filed Sep 27, 2002, 2:38 p.m.: 26 IR 374; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2544)

SECTION 14. 828 IAC 1-3-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

# 828 IAC 1-3-2 "Practice of dentistry" defined

Authority: IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-14-1-16

- Sec. 2. (a) Under IC 25-14-1-16(b)(2), an applicant for licensure by endorsement must have practiced dentistry for at least five (5) two (2) out of the mine (9) three (3) years preceding the date of application.
- (b) "Practice of dentistry" means that the applicant has actively engaged in clinical patient contact for at least an average of twenty (20) hours per week for five (5) two (2) years. A maximum of two (2) years one (1) year of the five (5) two (2) year requirement may have been in postdoctoral training in a program approved by the board. (State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 1-3-2; filed Apr 19, 1991, 3:00 p.m.: 14 IR 1728; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Sep 27, 2002, 2:38 p.m.: 26 IR 375; filed Mar 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.: 29 IR 2545)

# SECTION 15. THE FOLLOWING ARE REPEALED: 828 IAC 1-1-8; 828 IAC 1-1-12; 828 IAC 1-1-21; 828 IAC 1-2-7; 828 IAC 1-2-8; 828 IAC 1-2-9; 828 IAC 1-2-12; 828 IAC 1-2-14.

LSA Document #05-226(F)

Notice of Intent Published: September 1, 2005; 28 IR 3613 Proposed Rule Published: January 1, 2006; 29 IR 1370

Hearing Held: February 3, 2006

Approved by Attorney General: March 15, 2006

Approved by Governor: March 23, 2006

Filed with Secretary of State: March 23, 2006, 10:15 a.m.

IC 4-22-7-5(c) Notice from Secretary of State Regarding Documents Incorporated by Reference: None Received by Publisher Small Business Regulatory Coordinator: Shelly L. Mazo, Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Indiana Government Center-South, 402 West Washington Street, Room W072, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204, (317) 234-2007, smazo@pla.in.gov