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TITLE 872 INDIANA BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Proposed Rule
LSA Document #02-301

DIGEST

Amends 872 IAC 1-1-10 to revise the fee schedule. Adds 872 IAC 1-4 to establish the requirements for nonlicensee owners of
a firm under IC 25-2.1-5-4. Effective 30 days after filing with the secretary of state.

8§72 TAC 1-1-10
872 IAC 1-4

SECTION 1. 872 TAC 1-1-10, AS AMENDED AT 25 IR 2520, SECTION 4, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

872 TIAC 1-1-10 Application; fees
Authority: IC 25-2.1-2-15; IC 25-1-8-2
Affected: 1C 4-21.5-3-1; IC 25-2.1

Sec. 10. (a) Applications to take the May examination must be filed by the preceding March 1. Application to take the November
examination must be filed by the preceding September 1. If March 1 or September 1 is a Saturday, a Sunday, a legal holiday under
state statute, or a day that the Indiana professional licensing agency’s offices are closed during regular business hours, the deadline
shall be the first day thereafter that is not a Saturday, a Sunday, a legal holiday under state statute, or a day that the Indiana
professional licensing agency’s offices are closed during regular business hours. The date the application is filed shall be calculated
in the manner provided for in IC 4-21.5-3-1(f). Applicants will be notified of their eligibility to sit for the exam.

(b) All fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable. The following is a schedule of fees adopted by the board:

(1) The fee for the examination for CPA and AP licensure is the payment of the applicant’s cost of purchasing the
examination, payable to the examination service.

B (2) Transfer of grades, forty seventy-five dollars {548 ($75).

) (3) CPA certificate by reciprocity, fifty seventy-five dollars ($56): ($75).

3) (4) Triennial certificate of registration for CPAs, PAs, and APs, forty=ftve seventy-five dollars t545)- ($75).

9 (5) For restoration of an expired triennial certificate of registration for CPAs, PAs, and APs, fifty dollars ($50), plus all unpaid
renewal fees.

€5) (6) Triennial permit to practice for firms, twenty thirty dollars £$263- ($30).

£6) (7) For restoration of an expired triennial permit to practice for firms, fifty dollars ($50), plus all unpaid renewal fees.

(8) Verification of certificate of registration for CPA, PA, or AP to another state, twenty-five dollars ($25).

(c) Notwithstanding subsection tb)3); (b)(4), a fee for an individual initially registered in the:
(1) second year of a triennial registration period shall be thirty fifty dollars ($36): ($50); and
(2) third year of the triennial registration period shall be fifteen twenty-five dollars £$+5)- ($25).

(d) Failure of an applicant to pay the initial registration fee will cause the application to be terminated one (1) year after the
board’s action granting registration.

(e) Should an applicant pay the initial registration fee after the first renewal deadline for all licensees following the applicant’s
approval for licensure, the applicant must pay the renewal fee in addition to the initial registration fee in order to become licensed.
(Indiana Board of Accountancy, Rule 69-1, 10; filed Jun 30, 1978, 9:54 a.m.: 1 IR 396; filed Feb 15, 1980, 3:05 p.m.: 3 IR 639;



filed Aug 18, 1983, 3:20 p.m.: 6 IR 1928, filed May 1, 1984, 12:50 p.m.: 7 IR 1540; filed Mar 20, 1985, 3:25 p.m.: 8 IR 1033, filed
Aug 28, 1986, 3:20 p.m.: 10 IR 65; filed Aug 6, 1990, 4:30 p.m.: 13 IR 2135, filed Jun 1, 1994, 5:00 p.m.: 17 IR 2345; errata filed
Jul 28, 1994, 4:00 p.m.: 17 IR 2891; filed Jul 6, 1995, 12:00 p.m.: 18 IR 2784, filed Jun 14, 1996, 3:00 p.m.: 19 IR 3110; filed Feb
21, 2000, 7:06 a.m.: 23 IR 1654, readopted filed Jun 22, 2001, 8:57 a.m.: 24 IR 3824; filed Apr 4, 2002, 9:28 a.m.: 25 IR 2520)

SECTION 2. 872 IAC 1-4 IS ADDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:
Rule 4. Nonlicensee Firm Owners

872 TAC 1-4-1 General requirements
Authority: IC 25-2.1-2-15
Affected: IC 25-2.1-5-4; IC 25-2.1-6-6

Sec. 1. (a) This section establishes the requirements for nonlicensee owners of CPA or PA firms under IC 25-2.1-5-4. This
section does not apply to firms of accounting practitioners under IC 25-2.1-6-6.

(b) An active individual participant under IC 25-2.1-5-4(¢)(2) is an individual who is actively engaged in the firm or
affiliated entities in providing services to the firm’s clients as his or her principal occupation.

(¢) The firm’s owners must comply with the AICPA Code of Professional Conduct (applicable to CPA firms only) or the
NSA Rules of Professional Conduct (applicable to PA firms only) as adopted by the board in 872 IAC 1-2-1. (Indiana Board
of Accountancy,; 872 IAC 1-4-1)

Notice of Public Hearing

Under IC 4-22-2-24, notice is hereby given that on March 28, 2003 at 10:30 a.m., at the Indiana Government Center-South, 402
West Washington Street, Conference Center Room 10, Indianapolis, Indiana the Indiana Board of Accountancy will hold a public
hearing on proposed amendments to revise the fee schedule and to establish the requirements for nonlicensee owners of a firm
under IC 25-2.1-5-4. Copies of these rules are now on file at the Indiana Government Center-South, 302 West Washington Street,
Room EO012 and Legislative Services Agency, One North Capitol, Suite 325, Indianapolis, Indiana and are open for public
inspection.

Gerald H. Quigley
Executive Director
Indiana Professional Licensing Agency



