Document: Final Rule, Register Page Number: 26 IR 375
Sour ce: November 1, 2002, Indiana Register, Volume 26, Number 2
Disclaimer: This document was created from the files used to produce the official CD-ROM Indiana Register .
However, this document is unofficial.

TITLE 828 STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY
LSA Document #02-114(F)
DIGEST
Amends 828 IAC 0.5-2-3 and 828 |AC 0.5-2-4 concerning fees related to licensure to practice dentistry or dental
hygiene. Amends 828 IAC 1-7-1 concerning inactive status for licenses to practice dentistry. Adds 828 IAC 1-7-2
concerning inactive status for licenses to practice dental hygiene. Effective 30 days after filing with the secretary of
state.

828 1AC 0.5-2-3 8281AC 1-7-1
828 AC 0.5-2-4 828 IAC 1-7-2

SECTION 1. 828 IAC 0.5-2-3, AS ADDED AT 25 IR 1180, SECTION 1, IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 0.5-2-3 Dental fees
Authority: IC 23-1.5-2-9; IC 23-1.5-2-10; IC 25-1-8-2; IC 25-13-1-5; | C 25-14-1-13
Affected: [C 25-13-1-8; IC 25-14-1-10

Sec. 3. The board shall charge and collect the following fees related to the practice of dentistry:

(1) Examination administration $250 plus the cost of supplies, models, and
the use of the examination facility

(2) Reexamination administration $150 plus the cost of supplies, models, and
the use of the examination facility

(3) Licensure by endorsement $250

(4) License renewal $100 biennially

(5) Dental intern permit application $100

(6) Dental intern permit renewal $50

(7) Verification of dental licensure to another state $10

(8) Duplicate wall license $10

(9) Professional corporation registration application $25

(10) Professional corporation registration renewal $ 20 biennialy

(11) Application fees for the following permits: $50

(A) Genera anesthesia-deep sedation
(B) Light parenteral conscious sedation
(12) Renewal fees for the following permits: $ 50 biennialy
(A) Genera anesthesia-deep sedation
(B) Light parenteral conscious sedation
(13) Registration of an additional office in which to administer $ 25
general anesthesia, deep sedation, or light parenteral conscious
sedation
(14) Reinstatement of inactive license $250
(State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 0.5-2-3; filed Dec 2, 2001, 12:35 p.m.: 25 IR 1180; filed Oct 8, 2002,
12:40 p.m.: 26 IR 376)

SECTION 2. 828 IAC 0.5-2-4, AS ADDED AT 25 IR 1181, SECTION 2, IS AMENDED TO READ AS



FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 0.5-2-4 Dental hygienefees
Authority: 1C 23-1.5-2-9; IC 23-1.5-2-10; IC 25-1-8-2; IC 25-13-1-5; | C 25-14-1-13
Affected: 1C 25-13-1-8; IC 25-14-1-10

Sec. 4. The board shall charge and collect the following fees related to the practice of dental hygiene:

(1) Examination and/or reexamination $100 plus the cost of supplies and the use of
the examination facility

(2) Law examination only $25

(3) Licensure by endorsement $100

(4) License renewal $ 50 biennialy

(5) Dental hygiene intern permit application $50

(6) Dental hygiene intern permit renewal $25

(7) Verification of dental hygiene licensure to another state  $10

(8) Duplicate wall license $10

(9) Reinstatement of inactive license $100

(State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 0.5-2-4; filed Dec 2, 2001, 12:35 p.m.: 25 IR 1181; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40
p.m.: 26 IR 376)

SECTION 3. 828 IAC 1-7-1 ISAMENDED TO READ ASFOLLOWS:

828 1AC 1-7-1 Inactive statusfor dentists
Authority: 1C 25-14-1-10; IC 25-14-1-13
Affected: 1C 25-14-1-27.1; I1C 25-14-3-8

Sec. 1. (a) The board may issue a license to the holder of an inactive license under IC 25-14-1-27.1 if the
applicant:

(1) appliesin the form and manner required by the board;

1) (2) pays the renewal fee and reinstatement fee established in 828H+A€-6:5-2-13): 828 IAC 0.5-2-3; and

2 (3) meets the continuing education requirements established under this section.

(b) The applicant must compl ete fifty percent (50%) of the continuing education that would have been required
for renewal under IC 25-14-3-8 during each license period or partial license period the license was inactive.

(c) Not more than twenty-five percent (25%) of the continuing education required under this section may bein
the area of practice management.

(d) The continuing education submitted must include acertification programin basic life support. Not morethan
two (2) credit hours for certification programs in basic life support may be applied toward the credit hour
requirement. The board may waive the basic life support requirement for applicants who show reasonable cause.

(e) Documentation verifying the completion of the continuing education must be submitted to the board prior
to the reactivation of the applicant’s license.

(f) If the applicant’s license has been inactive for five (5) or more years, the applicant shall make a personal
appearance before the board. (State Board of Dentistry; 828 |AC 1-7-1; filed Sep 11, 2000, 2:20 p.m.: 24 IR 376;
readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m.: 26 IR 376)

SECTION 4. 828 IAC 1-7-21ISADDED TO READ ASFOLLOWS:

828 IAC 1-7-2 Inactive statusfor dental hygienists
Authority: 1C 25-13-1-5; |C 25-14-1-13
Affected: 1C 25-13-1-17.2; IC 25-13-2-6



Sec. 2. (a) The board may issue alicenseto the holder of an inactivelicense under 1C 25-13-1-17.2 if the
applicant:

(2) appliesin the form and manner required by the board;

(2) paystherenewal fee and reinstatement fee established in 828 |AC 0.5-2-4; and

(3) meetsthe continuing education requirements established under this section.

(b) The applicant must complete fifty percent (50%) of the continuing education that would have been
required for renewal under | C 25-13-2-6 during each license period or partial licenseperiod thelicensewas
inactive.

(c) Not mor ethan twenty-five per cent (25%) of the continuing education required under thissection may
bein the area of practice management.

(d) The continuing education submitted must include a certification program in basic life support. Not
mor e than two (2) credit hoursfor certification programsin basic life support may be applied toward the
credit hour requirement. Theboard may waivethebasiclife support requirement for applicantswho show
reasonable cause.

(e) Documentation verifying the completion of the continuing education must be submitted to the board
prior to thereactivation of the applicant’slicense.

() If the applicant’s license has been inactive for five (5) or more years, the applicant shall make a
per sonal appear ance beforethe boar d. (State Board of Dentistry; 828 |AC 1-7-2; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m.:
26 IR 377)
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