Document: Final Rule, Register Page Number: 25 IR 4102
Source: September 1, 2002, Indiana Register, Volume 25, Number 12
Disclaimer: This document was created from the files used to produce the official (printed) Indiana Register.
However, this document is unofficial.

TITLE 407 OFFICE OF THE CHILDREN’S HEALTH
INSURANCE PROGRAM

LSA Document #02-85(F)
DIGEST

Amends 407 IAC 2-2-5 to remove 12 months of consecutive eligibility to conform with state law, P.L.107-2002,
SECTION 25. Amends 407 IAC 2-3-1 to revise premium payment schedule to remove annual and quarterly payment
options. Effective 30 days after filing with the secretary of state.

407 IAC 2-2-5
407 IAC 2-3-1
407 IAC 2-3-2

SECTION 1. 407 TAC 2-2-5 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

407 IAC 2-2-5 Eligibility
Authority: IC 12-17.6-2-11
Affected: IC 12-17.6-3-3

Sec. 5. (a) Subject to subsection (b), an individual who is eligible for CHIP shall remain covered under the
program until the earlier of the following:

(1) The end of a pertod of twelve (12) months beginning on the first day of the month following the date of

determination of the individual’s ehigibility for the program: As tsed in this subdiviston; “date of determination

means the date that the application ts condittonally approved for €HIP: child becomes financially ineligible.

(2) The end of the month in which child becomes nineteen (19) years of age.

(b) Subsection (a) applies only if the individual:
(1) and the individual’s parent, guardian, or caretaker comply with enrollment requirements, including, but not
limited to, paying required premiums; and
(2) does not become ineligible under section 6(a) of this rule.
(Office of the Children’s Health Insurance Program; 407 IAC 2-2-5; filed May 3, 2000, 2:02 p.m.: 23 IR 2232;
filed Aug 7, 2002, 9:41 a.m.: 25 IR 4103)

SECTION 2. 407 IAC 2-3-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

407 TIAC 2-3-1 Responsibility for premium payment
Authority: IC 12-17.6-2-11
Affected: IC 12-17.6-3-2; IC 12-17.6-4-3

Sec. 1. (a) In order for an individual to receive benefits under CHIP, the individual’s family must pay monthly

premiums as described in /sic.] the fotowing table: below:
Fabte +- Amount of Premium
Monthty Quarterty Anmnuatty
Number of chitdren enrotted
Income (as a
percentage of One Two or more
federal poverty child children Fwo or Fwo or
level) enrolled enrolled one mote one mote



over 150%to  $11.00 $16.50  $3+56 $4725 $126-60 $186-66
175%
over 175%to  $16.50  $24.75  $4725 $7+00 $186:00 $276:60
200%

For purposes of this section, the family’s income includes the income considered in 407 IAC 2-2-2.

(b) Premiums may must be paid monthly. quarterly; or annuatty at the famity’s option: Partial month payments
will not be accepted. (Office of the Children’s Health Insurance Program, 407 IAC 2-3-1; filed May 3, 2000, 2:02

p.m.: 23 IR 2233; filed Aug 7, 2002, 9:41 a.m.: 25 IR 4103)
SECTION 3. 407 IAC 2-3-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

407 TIAC 2-3-2 Nonpayment of premium
Authority: IC 12-17.6-2-11
Affected: IC 12-17.6-3-2; IC 12-17.6-4-3

Sec. 2. (a) When an applicant is determined eligible for CHIP, the applicant will be conditionally approved for
CHIP pending payment of the premium. Coverage begins when the first premium is received by the office or its
designated contractor. After the premium is received, coverage will be retroactive to the first day of the month of
application.

(b) The parent or guardian must pay the first premium in order for the applicant to receive coverage under CHIP.
If payment is not received by the due date specified in the second premium notice, the CHIP application will be
denied.

(c) If any premium after the first premium is not paid by the due date, a maximum of sixty (60) days coverage
without premium payment will be permitted before coverage is discontinued. When a member has been
discontinued from the program due to non-payment of premiums, the family may remstate eoverage within one
D year from the date of the deciston granting chigibthity by paymg reapply, but must pay all past due premiums
and the premium for the current month Fhe member ts not reqtiired to reapply in order to reinstate begin coverage.
during this ene=year period: The member is not required to pay premiums for the time period between the date of
discontinuance and the date that coverage 1s reinstated: resumes. Any services received by the member during the
time period between the date of discontinuance and the date that coverage ts reinstated resumes are not covered
by CHIP.

(d) A payment of less than the full amount due will not be accepted and will be considered nonpayment. (Office
of the Children’s Health Insurance Program; 407 IAC 2-3-2; filed May 3, 2000, 2:02 p.m.: 23 IR 2233, filed Aug
7,2002, 9:41 am.: 25 IR 4103)
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