Document: Final Rule

Source: January 1, 2001, Indiana Register, Volume 24, Number 4

Disclaimer: These documents were created from the files used to produce the official (printed) Indiana Register, however, these documents are unofficial.

TITLE 865 STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR LAND SURVEYORS

LSA Document #00-20(F)

DIGEST

Amends 865 IAC 1-8-1 to change the payment of fees requirement to the payment of any required fees from the payment of renewal fees, require a statement of compliance with continuing education requirements, and grant the board the authority to verify continuing education compliance. Amends 865 IAC 1-11-1 to require a continuing education fee and eliminate the requirement for renewal fee for inactive licensees both as required by statute. Adds 865 IAC 1-13 to establish the continuing education requirements for registered land surveyors. Adds 865 IAC 1-14 to establish the requirements for continuing education providers. Effective 30 days after filing with the secretary of state.

865 IAC 1-8-1 865 IAC 1-13 865 IAC 1-11-1 865 IAC 1-14

SECTION 1. 865 IAC 1-8-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

865 IAC 1-8-1 Renewal

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14 Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 1. (a) The board has adopted the following to clarify and implement the payment of renewal fees on a biennial basis:
- (1) For purposes of biennial renewal, the postmark on the envelope containing the remittance will be considered the date of payment.
- (2) When the renewal fee is any required fees are not paid on time:
 - (A) the certificate of registration becomes invalid;
 - (B) the individual cannot lawfully practice or offer to practice land surveying; and
- (C) the individual's name will be deleted from future rosters; until the renewal fee and required delinquent fee is [sic., are] paid.
- (b) A registered land surveyor applying for license renewal shall certify on the application that the registered land surveyor has complied with the continuing education requirements under 865 IAC 1-13.
- (c) The board may require verification of any information submitted by the registered land surveyor and may require the registered land surveyor to submit evidence supporting the course credit claimed. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; Rule 8, Sec 1; filed Feb 29, 1980, 3:40 p.m.: 3 IR 633; filed Oct 17, 1986, 2:20 p.m.: 10 IR 422; filed Oct 13, 1992, 5:00 p.m.: 16 IR 880; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1024) NOTE: 864 IAC 1.1-8-1 was renumbered by Legislative Services Agency as 865 IAC 1-8-1.

SECTION 2. 865 IAC 1-11-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

865 IAC 1-11-1 Fees charged by board

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14 Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 1. The board shall charge and collect the following fees, which shall all be nonrefundable and nontransferable:
- (1) For review of an application for examination for registration as a land surveyor other than comity, a fee of ten dollars (\$10).
- (2) For the examination or reexamination of any applicant under the Act, a fee in the amount of fifty dollars (\$50).

- (3) For the processing and review of qualifications for registration as a land surveyor by comity, a fee of fifty dollars (\$50).
- (4) For issuance of the original certificate to practice as a registered land surveyor following passage of the examination or approval for registration on the basis of comity when the certificate is dated between August 1 of an:
 - (A) when the certificate is dated between August 1 of an odd-numbered year and July 31 of the following even-numbered year, inclusive, twenty-five dollars (\$25); or
 - (B) when the certificate is dated between August 1 of an even-numbered year and July 31 of the following odd-numbered year, inclusive, fifty dollars (\$50).
- (5) For biennial renewal of the certificate to practice as a registered land surveyor, a renewal fee of seventy dollars (\$70) and a fee of two dollars (\$2) for each hour of continuing education required both payable prior to no later than July 31 of each even-numbered year. No fee shall be required to renew a certificate in inactive status under 865 IAC 1-13-13.
- (6) For renewal of an expired certificate to practice as a registered land surveyor, ten dollars (\$10), plus all unpaid renewal fees for the four (4) years of delinquency. A certificate may not be renewed after four (4) years of delinquency.
- (7) For a duplicate or replacement certificate to practice as a registered land surveyor, ten dollars (\$10).
- (8) For a replacement pocket card to practice as a registered land surveyor, five dollars (\$5).
- (9) For examination and enrollment as a land-surveyor-in-training, a fee in the amount of twenty dollars (\$20).
- (10) The fee shall be fifty dollars (\$50) for the proctoring of examinations taken in this state for purposes of registration in other states. This fee shall be in addition to the examination fee.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; Rule 12, Sec 1; filed Feb 29, 1980, 3:40 p.m.: 3 IR 637; filed Oct 14, 1981, 1:30 p.m.: 4 IR 2459; filed Oct 17, 1986, 2:20 p.m.: 10 IR 442; errata, 10 IR 445; filed Oct 13, 1992, 5:00 p.m.: 16 IR 884; filed Jun 14, 1996, 3:00 p.m.: 19 IR 3110; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1025) NOTE: 864 IAC 1.1-12-1 was renumbered by Legislative Services Agency as 865 IAC 1-11-1.

SECTION 3. 865 IAC 1-13 IS ADDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

Rule 13. Continuing Education

865 IAC 1-13-1 Continuing education

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 1. This rule establishes the continuing education requirements for registered land surveyors. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-1; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1025)

865 IAC 1-13-2 Continuing education requirements

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 2. (a) Registered land surveyors must complete twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education in order to qualify for renewal of an active license.
- (b) Continuing education is first required for the July 31, 2002, renewal. However, notwithstanding subsection (a), only twenty-one (21) hours of continuing education, including six (6) mandatory hours under section 6 of this rule and fifteen (15) elective hours under section 7 of this rule, will be required for the July 31, 2002, renewal. No credit will be given for courses completed prior to August 1, 2000.
- (c) No credit will be given for courses completed prior to August 1, 2000. Courses taken or taught between August 1, 2000, and the effective date of this rule and of 865 IAC 1-14 may receive credit under section 5(b) of this rule. The limitation in section 5(b) of this rule to submit course material within three (3) months after taking the course shall not apply to courses taken in this time period so long as the course material is submitted no later than April 1, 2001. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-2; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1025)

865 IAC 1-13-3 New registrants exempted

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Sec. 3. New registrants are not required to comply with these continuing education requirements at the first renewal of their license. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-3; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1025)

865 IAC 1-13-4 Length of instruction hour Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 4. One (1) hour of continuing education must contain at least fifty (50) minutes of instruction. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-4; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1026)

865 IAC 1-13-5 Courses from approved and unapproved providers

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 5. (a) Hours of continuing education will be granted to registered land surveyors who have successfully completed courses offered by land surveyor continuing education providers approved pursuant to 865 IAC 1-14 or specific courses from nonapproved providers that the board has approved.
- (b) It is the obligation of the registered land surveyor to submit course material from unapproved providers either not more than three (3) months after taking the course or three (3) months before the end of the renewal cycle, whichever comes first. The required information must include the following:
 - (1) The course outline or description.
 - (2) A certified statement signed by the registered land surveyor stating that the entire course was completed.
 - (3) The information required in 865 IAC 1-14-13.
 - (4) The name and professional biography of the instructor.
- (c) To qualify under subsection (b), courses must be on the subject matter listed in section 6 or 7 of this rule and instructors must meet the requirements of 865 IAC 1-14-9. Course content, instructor qualifications, and provider qualifications must meet the requirements provided in 865 IAC 1-14. If the submitted information does not meet the requirements for approval, the course may be rejected and credit denied. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-5; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1026)

865 IAC 1-13-6 Mandatory topics

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 6. To qualify for renewal, a registered land surveyor must complete six (6) hours of continuing education in any of the following mandatory topics:
 - (1) 865 IAC 1-10, rules of professional conduct.
 - (2) 865 IAC 1-12, competent practice of land surveying.
 - (3) IC 25-21.5, Indiana land surveyor's registration act.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-6; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1026)

865 IAC 1-13-7 Elective topics

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

- Sec. 7. To qualify for renewal, a registered land surveyor must complete eighteen (18) hours of continuing education in any of the following elective topics:
 - (1) College level mathematics.
 - (2) College level physical sciences.
 - (3) Federal and state laws, rules, regulations, and practices pertaining to the establishment or reestablishment of land boundaries, and the practice of land surveying in Indiana.
 - (4) Preparation and analysis of legal descriptions of interests in land.
 - (5) The design, planning, and platting of subdivisions.

- (6) Preparation of plans and profiles for roads, storm drainage, and sanitary sewer extensions for subdivisions.
- (7) The ethical, economic, and legal principles that pertain to the practice of land surveying.
- (8) Distance and direction measurements, including statistical analysis.
- (9) Topographic and hydrographic surveying.
- (10) Photogrammetry.
- (11) Surveying applications, such as GIS, LIS, GPS.
- (12) Advanced surveying procedures and equipment.
- (13) Computer applications for land surveyors.
- (14) College level communication, such as public speaking and technical writing.
- (15) The topics listed in section 6 of this rule.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-7; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1026)

865 IAC 1-13-8 Continuing education credit not given

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 8. Credit will not be given for any of the following:

- (1) Any education obtained prior to licensure.
- (2) Self-study courses, correspondence courses, or any other unmonitored course where college credit are [sic., is] not awarded for successful completion or where such course was not provided by an accredited college or university as defined in this rule.
- (3) Meetings conducted during eating periods.
- (4) Motivational classes or seminars.
- (5) Meetings of the state board of registration for land surveyors.
- (6) Business, social, or other noneducational meetings of professional groups, or subgroups, such as the Indiana Society of Professional Land Surveyors.
- (7) Committee work with local, state, or national professional organizations.
- (8) Staff meetings.
- (9) Courses taken for a second or subsequent time during a renewal period.
- (10) Courses or seminars not completed. Partial credit may not be given.
- (11) Courses not completed due to dismissal by the provider for disruption of the course, such as reading newspapers, talking on mobile telephones, or anything other than paying attention during the course.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-8; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1026)

865 IAC 1-13-9 Retention of certificates of completion

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 9. Registered land surveyors shall retain course completion certificates for not less than five (5) years from the date of the course. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-9; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1027)

865 IAC 1-13-10 Hours cannot be used in later renewal cycles

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 10. Hours of continuing education earned in one (1) renewal period may not be used in a subsequent renewal period. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-10; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1027)

865 IAC 1-13-11 College courses as continuing education

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 11. College courses taken after licensure that qualify for continuing education credit under section 6 or 7 of this rule will be counted as follows:

(1) Ten (10) hours of continuing education credit per credit hour taken in a quarter system.

(2) Fifteen (15) hours of continuing education credit per credit hour taken in a semester system.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-11; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1027)

865 IAC 1-13-12 Credit for instructors

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 12. Two (2) hours of continuing education credit will be granted per hour time spent as a lecturer, instructor, or discussion leader in a course offered by an approved continuing education provider. Continuing education credit will be granted only the first time an approved course is given per biennium. Fractions of hours are not eligible for credit toward meeting the continuing education requirement. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-12; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1027)

865 IAC 1-13-13 Inactive status

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 13. Registered land surveyors may apply to the board to renew their licenses in an inactive status. No continuing education is required to renew inactive. An inactive registered land surveyor may not practice land surveying while in an inactive status. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-13; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1027)

865 IAC 1-13-14 Reactivation of inactive license

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 14. To reactivate an inactive license, a registered land surveyor must:

- (1) apply to the board for reactivation on the application form supplied by the board; and
- (2) pay the same fee required to renew an active license.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-14; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1027)

865 IAC 1-13-15 Reactivation if inactive for six years or less

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 15. Registered land surveyors who have been inactive for a period of six (6) years or less at the date the reactivation application is filed must either:
 - (1) pass part IIB of the next regularly scheduled land surveyor examination; or
 - (2) show proof of having completed twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education, six (6) hours under section 6 of this rule and eighteen (18) hours under section 7 of this rule, within the two (2) year period immediately prior to the date the reactivation application is filed.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-15; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1027)

865 IAC 1-13-16 Reactivation if inactive for six years or more

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 16. Registered land surveyors who have been inactive for a period of more than six (6) years at the date the reactivation application is filed must pass part IIB of the next regularly scheduled land surveyor examination and show proof of having completed twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education, six (6) hours under section 6 of this rule and eighteen (18) hours under section 7 of this rule, within two (2) year period immediately prior to the date the reactivation application is filed. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-16; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1027)

865 IAC 1-13-17 Continuing education required after reactivation

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Sec. 17. This section applies to all registered land surveyors who reactivate an inactive license by establishing the number of hours of continuing education required for the time period between reactivation and the following renewal date in order to qualify to renew active. Registered land surveyors must complete the mandatory continuing education required in section 6 of this rule unless the requirement in the table in this section is zero (0). Additional hours of continuing education required in this table may be met by taking courses that meet the requirements of section 7 of this rule.

	mours Required
Date of Activation	to Renew Active
August 1-October 31 of first 12 months of license period	24
November 1-January 31 of first 12 months of license period	21
February 1-April 30 of first 12 months of license period	18
May 1-July 31 of first 12 months of license period	15
August 1-October 31 of second 12 months of license period	12
November 1-January 31 of second 12 months of license period	9
February 1-April 30 of second 12 months of license period	6
May 1-July 31 of second 12 months of license period	0
(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors: 865 IAC 1-13-17: filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 r	$m \cdot 24 \ IR \ 1028$

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-17; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1028)

865 IAC 1-13-18 Petitions for reduction of hours Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 18. (a) Registered land surveyors who are unable to meet the continuing education requirements because they:

- (1) serve honorably on active duty in the military;
- (2) reside outside of the United States of America; or
- (3) have an incapacitating illness or injury that has prevented either part-time or full-time employment; may petition the board in writing to have a reduction of the continuing education requirements.
- (b) Registered land surveyors who receive a reduction in the continuing education hours under subsection (a) must make up those hours in the next licensure period to the extent required by the table in this subsection. Those hours will be in addition to the hours otherwise required for the next licensure period.

Makeup Hours (Combined with Hours Actually Obtained During the Continuing Education Period from Which the Reduction was Given) Required to Renew Active

Hours Required

Length of Unavailability Under Subsection (a)	Reduction was Given) Req
Less than 3 months	24
At least 3 months but less than 6 months	21
At least 6 months but less than 9 months	18
At least 9 months but less than 12 months	15
At least 12 months but less than 15 months	12
At least 15 months but less than 18 months	9
At least 18 months but less than 21 months	6
21 months to 24 months	3

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-18; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1028)

865 IAC 1-13-19 Audits of continuing education compliance

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-1-11; IC 25-21.5

Sec. 19. (a) The board may conduct audits of registered land surveyors and providers for continuing education compliance. For every purpose of this section, the board may designate a board member or staff member to act on behalf of or in name of the board.

(b) If, as the result of an audit or other review, the board determines that hours of continuing education a registered land

surveyor has claimed do not meet the requirements of IC 25-21.5-8-7 and this article, the board shall notify the registered land surveyor of that determination.

- (c) A registered land surveyor, who has been notified under subsection (b), may, within thirty (30) days, submit information to the board giving all the substantive reasons in support of the registered land surveyor's position that an adequate number of hours of continuing education have been completed.
- (d) A registered land surveyor who submits false information shall be subject to the sanctions provided for under IC 25-1-11.
- (e) Registered land surveyors who are found not to be in compliance will be subject to discipline under IC 25-1-11. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-19; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1028)

865 IAC 1-13-20 Sunset provision

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 20. This rule expires August 1, 2004. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-20; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1028)

SECTION 4. 865 IAC 1-14 IS ADDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

Rule 14. Continuing Education Providers

865 IAC 1-14-1 Approval of providers

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 1. This rule establishes the requirements for land surveyor continuing education providers to become approved by the board, and maintain that status, and conduct the delivery of land surveyor continuing education. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-1; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1029)

865 IAC 1-14-2 Continuing education course providers

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 2. (a) The board, upon application, may grant continuing education course provider approval to applicants who apply under this rule.
- (b) Colleges and universities who are accredited by the following accrediting entities are deemed by the board to be approved continuing education providers and need not apply for approval:
 - (1) Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools/Commission on Higher Education.
 - (2) New England Association of Schools and Colleges.
 - (3) North Central Association of Schools and Colleges.
 - (4) Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges.
 - (5) Southern Association of Colleges and Schools/Commission on Colleges.
- (6) Western Association of Schools and Colleges/Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-2; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1029)

865 IAC 1-14-3 Course provider application

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 3. Applicants for course provider approval must submit, on a form provided by the board, the course provider's name, address, and telephone number and the name, address, and phone number of a contact person for the course provider. (State

Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-3; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1029)

865 IAC 1-14-4 Course provider applications; submissions

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 4. Course provider applicants must submit the following:

- (1) A course content outline meeting the requirements of 865 IAC 1-13-6 or 865 IAC 1-13-7, describing each subject to be offered during the approval period.
- (2) A clearly expressed course objective.
- (3) Name and professional biography of the instructors that shows compliance with section 9 of this rule.
- (4) The number of hours of continuing education to be granted for each course.
- (5) A student evaluation form.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-4; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1029)

865 IAC 1-14-5 Expiration of approval

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 5. Course provider approval will expire on July 31 of each even-numbered year. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-5; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1029)

865 IAC 1-14-6 Renewal of course provider approval

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 6. To request renewal, an approved course provider of a continuing education course shall submit a letter requesting such renewal that informs the board of all changes in the information required to be submitted to the board under sections 3 and 4 of this rule. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-6; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1029)

865 IAC 1-14-7 Notification of changes

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 7. All approved course providers of continuing education courses shall advise the board within thirty (30) days after any significant changes in their operation. Significant changes include, but are not limited to, the following:
 - (1) Going out of business.
 - (2) Change in the address or phone number of the course provider.
 - (3) Change in name, address, or telephone number of the contact person.
 - (4) Adding a new instructor.
 - (5) Changes in course outline.
 - (6) Any course addition or deletion.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-7; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1029)

865 IAC 1-14-8 Facilities

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 8. Courses shall be taught in a facility with adequate space, seating, equipment, and instructional material to accommodate the number of students enrolled. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-8; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1029)

865 IAC 1-14-9 Instructor qualifications

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

- Sec. 9. Instructors shall possess special skills or knowledge of the subject being presented and have at least one (1) of the following minimum qualifications:
 - (1) An instructor of land surveying teaching at an accredited institution of higher education in the United States, or a comparable school of a foreign country.
 - (2) Have a college degree related to the material that the person is to teach.
- (3) Five (5) years full-time experience in a profession, trade, or technical occupation related to the material being taught. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-9; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1030)

865 IAC 1-14-10 Ineligible instructor candidates

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 10. Anyone whose professional license or certification is under sanction in any jurisdiction may not instruct in approved programs while the disciplinary sanction is in effect. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-10; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1030)

865 IAC 1-14-11 Course approval

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 11. To receive approval of a course, the course provider must submit to the board the following:

- (1) A course content outline describing the class being offered that must comply with 865 IAC 1-13-6 or 865 IAC 1-13-7.
- (2) A clearly expressed course objective.
- (3) The name and professional biography of the in-structor.
- (4) The number of hours to be granted for the course.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-11; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1030)

865 IAC 1-14-12 Course evaluations

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 12. Course providers shall conduct a student course evaluation using a form approved by the board. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-12; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1030)

865 IAC 1-14-13 Certificates of completion

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 13. (a) Course providers shall provide the registered land surveyor who successfully completes an approved course a certificate of course completion that must include the following information:
 - (1) Name, telephone number, and address of the provider.
 - (2) Name, address, and license number of the participant.
 - (3) Title of the course.
 - (4) Course location.
 - (5) Date of the course.
 - (6) Number of approved course hours.
 - (7) Name, address, and signature of the instructor.
- **(b)** The course provider must complete the certificate of completion in its entirety. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-13; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1030)

865 IAC 1-14-14 Courses not completed

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Sec. 14. Course providers may not grant to registered land surveyors partial credit. To receive credit for a course, a registered land surveyor must be present for the entire course. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-14; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1030)

865 IAC 1-14-15 Reporting attendance to the board

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 15. Course providers shall, not more than thirty (30) days after a course is presented, submit the following to the board:
 - (1) An alphabetical list of all registered land surveyors who attended the course.
- (2) A certified statement of the hours of continuing education to be credited to each registrant. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-15; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1030)

865 IAC 1-14-16 Auditing courses by the board

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 16. The board reserves the right to send a representative to evaluate a course and related aspects, such as the facilities, course outline, handouts, instructor, and presentation, at no cost to the board or its representative. The representative may record all or part of any presentations. Board representatives who attend continuing education courses without paying the full fee charged by the course provider are ineligible to receive continuing education credit. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-16; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1030)

865 IAC 1-14-17 Record retention

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

- Sec. 17. Course providers must retain records of students who attend their courses for a minimum of five (5) years after the completion of the cycle in which the course was given. The records must include the following:
 - (1) Attendance records.
 - (2) Examination scores (if applicable).
 - (3) Student course evaluations.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-17; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1031)

865 IAC 1-14-18 Audits of continuing education compliance

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 18. The board may do the following:

- (1) Conduct audits of course providers for continuing education compliance.
- (2) Designate a board member or staff member to conduct the audit.

(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-18; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1031)

865 IAC 1-14-19 Discipline for noncompliance

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Affected: IC 25-1-11; IC 25-21.5

Sec. 19. Course providers who are found not to be in compliance with this rule are subject to being disciplined under IC **25-1-11.** (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-19; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1031)

865 IAC 1-14-20 Sunset provision

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7

Sec. 20. This rule expires August 1, 2004. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-14-20; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1031)

LSA Document #00-20(F)

Notice of Intent Published: 23 IR 1422

Proposed Rule Published: April 1, 2000; 23 IR 1725

Hearing Held: May 3, 2000

Approved by Attorney General: November 3, 2000 Approved by Governor: November 16, 2000

Filed with Secretary of State: November 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m. Incorporated Documents Filed with Secretary of State: None