Document: Final Rule, Register Page Number: 26 IR 375 Source: November 1, 2002, Indiana Register, Volume 26, Number 2 Disclaimer: This document was created from the files used to produce the official CD-ROM Indiana Register . However, this document is unofficial.

TITLE 828 STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY

LSA Document #02-114(F)

DIGEST

Amends 828 IAC 0.5-2-3 and 828 IAC 0.5-2-4 concerning fees related to licensure to practice dentistry or dental hygiene. Amends 828 IAC 1-7-1 concerning inactive status for licenses to practice dentistry. Adds 828 IAC 1-7-2 concerning inactive status for licenses to practice dental hygiene. Effective 30 days after filing with the secretary of state.

828 IAC 0.5-2-3	828 IAC 1-7-1
828 IAC 0.5-2-4	828 IAC 1-7-2

SECTION 1. 828 IAC 0.5-2-3, AS ADDED AT 25 IR 1180, SECTION 1, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 0.5-2-3 Dental fees

Authority: IC 23-1.5-2-9; IC 23-1.5-2-10; IC 25-1-8-2; IC 25-13-1-5; IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-13-1-8; IC 25-14-1-10

Sec. 3. The board shall charge and collect the following fees related to the practice of dentistry:

(1) Examination administration	\$250 plus the cost of supplies, models, and
	the use of the examination facility
(2) Reexamination administration	\$150 plus the cost of supplies, models, and
	the use of the examination facility
(3) Licensure by endorsement	\$250
(4) License renewal	\$100 biennially
(5) Dental intern permit application	\$100
(6) Dental intern permit renewal	\$ 50
(7) Verification of dental licensure to another state	\$ 10
(8) Duplicate wall license	\$ 10
(9) Professional corporation registration application	\$ 25
(10) Professional corporation registration renewal	\$ 20 biennially
(11) Application fees for the following permits:	\$ 50
(A) General anesthesia-deep sedation	
(B) Light parenteral conscious sedation	
(12) Renewal fees for the following permits:	\$ 50 biennially
(A) General anesthesia-deep sedation	
(B) Light parenteral conscious sedation	
(13) Registration of an additional office in which to administer	\$ 25
general anesthesia, deep sedation, or light parenteral conscious	
sedation	

(14) Reinstatement of inactive license

\$250 d Dec 2, 2001, 12:35 p.m.: 2:

(State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 0.5-2-3; filed Dec 2, 2001, 12:35 p.m.: 25 IR 1180; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m.: 26 IR 376)

SECTION 2. 828 IAC 0.5-2-4, AS ADDED AT 25 IR 1181, SECTION 2, IS AMENDED TO READ AS

FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 0.5-2-4 Dental hygiene fees Authority: IC 23-1.5-2-9; IC 23-1.5-2-10; IC 25-1-8-2; IC 25-13-1-5; IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-13-1-8; IC 25-14-1-10

Sec. 4. The board shall charge and collect the following fees related to the practice of dental hygiene:

(1) Examination and/or reexamination	\$100 plus the cost of supplies and the use of
	the examination facility
(2) Law examination only	\$ 25
(3) Licensure by endorsement	\$100
(4) License renewal	\$ 50 biennially
(5) Dental hygiene intern permit application	\$ 50
(6) Dental hygiene intern permit renewal	\$ 25
(7) Verification of dental hygiene licensure to another state	\$ 10
(8) Duplicate wall license	\$ 10
(9) Reinstatement of inactive license	\$100
tata Roard of Dantistry: 828 IAC 0.5.2 A. filad Dac 2, 2001, 12	0.35 nm · 25 IP 1181 · filed Oct 8 2002 12.40

(State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 0.5-2-4; filed Dec 2, 2001, 12:35 p.m.: 25 IR 1181; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m.: 26 IR 376)

SECTION 3. 828 IAC 1-7-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 1-7-1 Inactive status for dentists

Authority: IC 25-14-1-10; IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-14-1-27.1; IC 25-14-3-8

Sec. 1. (a) The board may issue a license to the holder of an inactive license under IC 25-14-1-27.1 if the applicant:

(1) applies in the form and manner required by the board;

(1) (2) pays the renewal fee and reinstatement fee established in $\frac{828 \text{ IAC } 0.5-2-1(3)}{3}$; 828 IAC 0.5-2-3; and (2) (3) meets the continuing education requirements established under this section.

(b) The applicant must complete fifty percent (50%) of the continuing education that would have been required for renewal under IC 25-14-3-8 during each license period or partial license period the license was inactive.

(c) Not more than twenty-five percent (25%) of the continuing education required under this section may be in the area of practice management.

(d) The continuing education submitted must include a certification program in basic life support. Not more than two (2) credit hours for certification programs in basic life support may be applied toward the credit hour requirement. The board may waive the basic life support requirement for applicants who show reasonable cause.

(e) Documentation verifying the completion of the continuing education must be submitted to the board prior to the reactivation of the applicant's license.

(f) If the applicant's license has been inactive for five (5) or more years, the applicant shall make a personal appearance before the board. (*State Board of Dentistry; 828 IAC 1-7-1; filed Sep 11, 2000, 2:20 p.m.: 24 IR 376; readopted filed Apr 11, 2001, 3:21 p.m.: 24 IR 2896; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m.: 26 IR 376*)

SECTION 4. 828 IAC 1-7-2 IS ADDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

828 IAC 1-7-2 Inactive status for dental hygienists Authority: IC 25-13-1-5; IC 25-14-1-13 Affected: IC 25-13-1-17.2; IC 25-13-2-6 Sec. 2. (a) The board may issue a license to the holder of an inactive license under IC 25-13-1-17.2 if the applicant:

(1) applies in the form and manner required by the board;

(2) pays the renewal fee and reinstatement fee established in 828 IAC 0.5-2-4; and

(3) meets the continuing education requirements established under this section.

(b) The applicant must complete fifty percent (50%) of the continuing education that would have been required for renewal under IC 25-13-2-6 during each license period or partial license period the license was inactive.

(c) Not more than twenty-five percent (25%) of the continuing education required under this section may be in the area of practice management.

(d) The continuing education submitted must include a certification program in basic life support. Not more than two (2) credit hours for certification programs in basic life support may be applied toward the credit hour requirement. The board may waive the basic life support requirement for applicants who show reasonable cause.

(e) Documentation verifying the completion of the continuing education must be submitted to the board prior to the reactivation of the applicant's license.

(f) If the applicant's license has been inactive for five (5) or more years, the applicant shall make a personal appearance before the board. (*State Board of Dentistry*; 828 IAC 1-7-2; filed Oct 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m.: 26 IR 377)

LSA Document #02-114(F) Notice of Intent Published: 25 IR 2546 Proposed Rule Published: July 1, 2002; 25 IR 3452 Hearing Held: August 2, 2002 Approved by Attorney General: September 19, 2002 Approved by Governor: October 3, 2002 Filed with Secretary of State: October 8, 2002, 12:40 p.m. Incorporated Documents Filed with Secretary of State: None