-IR- Database Guide
-IR- Database: Indiana Register

TITLE 842 INDIANA BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Economic Impact Statement
LSA Document #22-353


IC 4-22-2.1-5 Statement Concerning Rules Affecting Small Businesses
The proposed rule does not impose requirements or costs on small businesses under IC 4-22-2.1-5 but will add additional fees paid by licensees for the initial compact privilege and the compact privilege renewal.
The Indiana Board of Physical Therapy (board) has conducted a review to consider whether there are any alternative methods of achieving the purpose of each rule to be adopted that are less costly or less intrusive, or that would otherwise minimize the economic impact of the proposed rule on physical therapists. Below is a summary of the board's findings regarding costs or other requirements imposed on physical therapy licensees under existing rules.

This rule establishes a $100 fee for the compact privilege and a $100 fee for the compact privilege renewal, and provides that all fees collected are nonrefundable and nontransferable.

The need for this rule:
This rule is needed for the board to fulfill its mandate from House Enrolled Act 1405-2021 for physical therapy compact licensure.

IC 25-1-8-2 Fees; establishment and collection
Sec. 2. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision regarding the fees to be assessed by a board, a board shall establish by rule and cause to be collected fees for the following:
(1) Examination of applicants for licensure, registration, or certification.
(2) Issuance, renewal, or transfer of a license, registration, or certificate.
(3) Restoration of an expired license, registration, or certificate when such action is authorized by law.
(4) Issuance of licenses by reciprocity or endorsement for out-of-state applicants.
(5) Issuance of board or committee reciprocity or endorsements for practitioners licensed, certified, or registered in Indiana who apply to another state for a license.
No fee shall be less than ten dollars ($10) unless the fee is collected under a rule adopted by the board which sets a fee for miscellaneous expenses incurred by the board on behalf of the practitioners the board regulates.
(b) Fees established by statute shall remain in effect until replaced by a new fee adopted by rule under this section.
(c) In no case shall the fees be less than are required to pay all of the costs, both direct and indirect, of the operation of the board.
(d) For the payment of fees, a board shall accept cash, a draft, a money order, a cashier's check, and a certified or other personal check. If a board receives an uncertified personal check for the payment of a fee and if the check does not clear the bank, the board may void the license, registration, or certificate for which the check was received.
(e) Unless designated by rule, a fee is not refundable.
(f) A board shall charge a fee of not more than twenty-five dollars ($25) for the issuance of a duplicate license, registration, or certificate.

Posted: 01/11/2023 by Legislative Services Agency

DIN: 20230111-IR-842220353EIA
Composed: Jul 22,2024 8:11:51PM EDT
A PDF version of this document.